Tuesday…vacation day two

Morning two of vacation and here we are…I’m in the same spot as yesterday a.m. though I have Spring Revival Fair Trade this morning.  It really is my favorite and since yesterday was such a struggle, I thought I would try starting my day with the coffee I most love.  This is a coping strategy for me.  I love what I love and often do not stray from it whether it be my morning coffee, type of clothing, pens (Sharpie..hands down) driving routes or radio stations.  I have learned that I can depend on these things for routine…for a sense of calm.  Routine is such an important tool that I rely on.  I like knowing what to expect.  It is actually pretty funny because even as I sit here writing how much I love routine and having things the same and predictable, I know that I am very much an on the fly person.  How’s that for a paradox?  I am always up for plans at the last minute.  I guess it is the foundation of the starting routine that allows me to be flexible. The framework that the initial routine provides leads to that flexibility.  Wow!  Confusing!

Honoring what builds that foundation on a daily basis is paramount.  Giving myself permission to rely on this routine is also important.  Yes it is complicated…but that is reality and I have had to find a way for that to be alright.  If you have an allergy to something, you make accommodations…you adjust in order to remain well.  I view having ADHD as very similar to that…you must work at making accommodations and allowing yourself the room to grow in a healthy way.

If you have ADD/ADHD or if you breathe… take the time today to honor what you love, take a moment to listen to your favorite song, drink your favorite coffee, check in with a close friend…even the small things make a difference.  Don’t stray from the comfortable to increase your flexibility…respect your need for comfort and routine and before you know it you will be doing back walk-overs and other gymnastic marvels!  No, not really but you will be amazed at your willingness to be a little more open and flexible.

So, on day two of vacation, I have enjoyed my favorite coffee, spent some loving moments hugging tightly and talking with each of my children and will continue my day and what it brings to me a little more openly,  I am working at allowing myself to be me…even on vacation!

Leave a Reply

