i am a brain surgeon…

…just finished watching a brilliant documentary about Autism.  Along with wanting to be a pediatric neurosurgeon, I wanted to attend UNC Chapel Hill (the Autism Capital of the world) to obtain a degree in working with children diagnosed with Autism.  In college, I spent my nights caring for two adults with Autism among their challenges.  I had a real connection with these people.  In my twenties, I worked in a specialized school for children with a myriad of challenges.  I worked for a very long time with a girl named Beth.  I spent very long days with her and recall many mountains that we climbed together.  I can only hope that her memories of the time we worked together are a fraction as fond as mine.  I grew a tremendous amount during my time teaching and caring for many individuals with this diagnosis.  I recently revisited my intrigue of Autism.  In doing so, I watched a compelling documentary called Loving Lampposts.  You can view the documentary here:

http://www.snagfilms.com/films/title/loving_lampposts/

I appreciated the perspectives shared and the shift of focus and energy that it emphasizes…check it out when you have a moment!

I truly did want to be a pediatric neurosurgeon…I am fascinated by the brain and by child development.  I suppose, in my heart, I am a brain surgeon of sorts…I am a preschool teacher.  That certainly lends itself to influencing growing minds now doesn’t it? And hey!  I sometimes do wear gloves…and come to think of it, I scrub in many times a day!

2 thoughts on “i am a brain surgeon…

  1. Have you seen the movie Temple Grondin or read the book? I’ve done both, loved them both for different reasons. We have spectrum kids in the family.

Leave a Reply

