grace…and the wind in your hair

…we used to drive a Subaru wagon…a white one…with a bass cannon in the back. Now THOSE were the days! We traded it in for our first minivan when our daughter was born. Shortly after her birth the engine was about to drop out so we traded up for the used Toyota Sienna that we still drive today…11 years later.

We had been remotely discussing what our next car or even our second car might be when it happened. My husband was stopped and cited for non-inspection. By the grace of God he was given a warning and told not to drive the vehicle again unless it was to the inspection station. After all, in true ADHD fashion, it had not been just a few days or a month since the inspection had expired, it had been ten months. OOPS! Truth of the matter is, we had taken it to be inspected and miserably it had failed to the tune of about $1000. That would be $1000 that we did not have! In walked grace a second time. I was offered a part time job to earn the money to fix it but it would take me five weeks to earn it. We were only two and a half weeks into my second job when my husband was pulled over and we had to hang up the keys.

We scrambled for a solution. Grace to the rescue a third time in a matter of days. I had phoned a friend to share my dilemma and she had graciously offered to lend us her extra car for a few days. A fourth nod to grace…we connected with a mechanic who could not only fix our van but could do it reasonably, IN our driveway! We were surely on our way to mending the van when her demise actually simultaneously began. The car that we had been lent was an Audi A-6 station wagon…LOVE is in the air! AND in our seats…heated leather…and in our ears…Bose stereo system.

My husband and I fell in love with the non-minivan treat as did our children. In our van, the children do not have windows to roll down as we have sliding doors. In the Audi, all three could automatically lower and raise their own window and let me tell you THIS was a hit! Aside from being my ADHD dream as I drove at night with the dash lights that lit up like an airline cockpit.

Needless to say, our van was mended and with a bit more drama around another failed inspection and a few more quick fixes (big shout out to Nate!) we were back in business with a new shiny updated inspection sticker. It was certainly a stressful 5 days in our life that was blessed with unfathomable grace!

I will treasure those five days…my warm seat…and the memory of all three children riding to school in 16 degree weather with the windows down after my five year old sweetly stated, ” please….I just want to feel the wind in my hair Mama!”
A dilemma, a blessing and many encounters with GRACE! Take a moment today to breathe and acknowledge the grace that happens daily in your life…be encouraged…she’s there! Thank you Grace…

Leave a Reply

